How To: Make Simple Mittens in Single Crochet

Make Simple Mittens in Single Crochet

This is a simple pattern, designed to produce a well-fitting mitten. Both the right and left mittens worked the same up to the shaping for the top of the mitten. A slight adjustment for making one right and one left, then they are worked the same. The gusset for the thumb constructed with the increases made in the center of the gusset, rather than on each side. This makes it easy with a minimal amount of counting stitches as you go.

I have been crocheting for 56 years. In doing research for writing this pattern, checking terms and what works in illustrations, I discovered that I have been doing it wrong! I learned to insert the hook from the back to the front, and all the 'learn to crochet' postings currently available , as well as all the books on crocheting I consulted, all show that the hook is inserted from front to back. I'm working on correcting my backwards ways, but it is difficult to overcome 56 years of experience! Does it really matter? For this pattern, not really, except that they appear different. Keep this in mind as you look at the pictures. The pattern works either way.

Work on both mittens, rather than make them one at a time!

Materials:
4 oz. a worsted weight yarn. I used Red Heart Super Saver Acrylic in frosty Green.
Scraps of yarn for markers
Size G crochet hook, yarn needles, row counter (optional, but strongly advised), small safety pins
Gauge: 8 sc = 2 inches, 9 rows = 2 inches.

Definitions:
Ch – chain
Sc – single crochet
Sl st – slip stitch
Yo – yarn over hook

Dec in next 2 sc – insert hook in sc, yo, pull up a loop, insert hook in next sc, yo, pull up a loop, yo, pull loop through all three loops on hook. Decrease made.

^ ....^ - usually a pattern uses asterisks to define a group of stitches to be repeated a number of times, but the use of them here just makes the text between them bold. Therefore I am using ^ .....^ instead.